Corona Geek #160 – Homing Turret Vector Math Breakdown – Using Gravity In Games – Part 6

Corona Geek #160 – Homing Turret Vector Math Breakdown – Using Gravity In Games – Part 6

On today’s Corona Geek Hangout we continued our game development discussion by looking at an isolated homing turret code example. Ed Maurina walked us through how to create a continuous moving target, which our turret then tracked across the screen. We also saw how to turn regular “dumb” missiles into homing missile that followed the target after the projectiles were launched from the turret. Corona Geek

Watch the previous Hangout for more details on how the game works.

  • part 1 – game mechanics and how gravity works
  • part 2 – player jumping and keyboard inputs
  • part 3 – creating level using platforms, spikes, coins, and monsters
  • part 4 – building game objects and restarting levels
  • part 5 – adding turrets

The game’s source code is available. If you haven’t already, download the updated project.

Also, join us next week when we talk with Dean Murphy, developer of Crystal, the #1 ad blocker for iOS 9. Dean will share his journey from developing with Corona SDK for cross platform development to focusing exclusively on iOS development.

Join Corona Geek After Dark

Tune in tomorrow night at 6pm Pacific ( 8pm Central / 9pm Eastern ) for Corona Geek After Dark #12 when we will discuss general app development, forum questions, community insights, and more geekfoo. Last week we discussed tvOS, iPad Pro, Apple Pencil, plus a ton of other stuff.

Links For Today’s Hangout

Learning Resources

Thank you for watching, listening, and following Corona Geek:

Charles McKeever
charles@coronalabs.com

Charles McKeever is a life long computer geek who enjoys exploring technologies to understand how they work, how they can be smashed together, and how they can be used to fuel entrepreneurial endeavors.

No Comments

Post A Comment